Never Say Never

I said I would never pay for air again.  I wrote a few times about my experience with Sirius XM … here and here and here.  Most recently my June 1 free trial expired.  While I was being the other F word, frugal, B had a small baby package for $5.47 a month (fees and taxes included).   I had forgotten about this until I was checking my account.

Last week I had some odd voice mails and text messages to punch in my code.  I ignored all the phishermen but after speaking to a rep, I decided to change my password.  That is how and when I found the $5.47 a month was now $22.02 a month as of July and had jumped to $22.02 for the first time in June.  Automatic renewal after expiration or some such mess.  Oh no, no, no, no not me, oh no, no, no, no not me … thank you Joan Jett ear worm.

Where was I? Oh ya, Sirius XM.  Never say never.

I called to inquire.  All sweet because ya know the Rona has me behaving better.  And 14 1/2 years in customer service helps me understand.  I asked how I could lower the price or I’d be forced to cancel.  I know we can afford $22.02 a month but I live like we can’t for Armageddon.  One never knows when … uh now.

But I digress.

I was offered a one year deal but I had to pay in one lump sum.  With the deal they would credit me $22.02 for July.  I lost June’s 22.02 but didn’t push it.  The deal was too saaaaweet to complain.

Now you might wonder, how did they get me?  When I swore up one side and down the other that I would not pay for air.  The mad ad men needed to do that.  Oh no, no, no, no not me, oh no, no, no, no not me.  Somebody stop me.  LOL.

Well I’ll tell ya, it was the online radio for my iPad, my desktop, and my iPhone plus the truck.  All four for $8 a month.  I have enjoyed this immensely.  It’s likely how I reconnected with Ms. Jett and the Blackhearts.  80s on 8.  Yeah Buddy!

As always, more to come.