Owl ~ 10/9/22

Today’s prompt is owl. #tshalloweenchallenge @tourmalinenow to locate me. LINK to daily post when it’s ready.

This macramé necklace is easily 45 years old. Made by my own little hands. Surprised I didn’t trash it during one of my Swedish death cleans.

Hoot Hoot

As always more to come.

The Get Real Series Inaugural Debut ~ 10/9/22

I’m sprucing up the place, fixing the menu on my site to have my posts grouped in a better format. I’m also adding a brand new category called The Get Real Series. Today is a soft opening as I decide further what I will put here. Is this safe space only to be solely related to what I have subtly or not so subtly hinted at all these months? Or will I add real life posts of all varieties as they hit me?

I already have other categories for LIFE, still way too many sub-sections despite the new groupings which makes me think The Get Real Series will be exclusive. The thing is I’m not quite ready to come out of the shadows into full light to reveal the topic. And it’s not really real when I can’t say the one word which terrifies me most in this world. I don’t want to lose you & when I finally say what is slowly killing me, some (hopefully all of you) will say “Jilly, you worried for nothing”.

As always, more to come.

#SLS ~ 10/9/22

Today is user’s choice. Thanks Jim for hosting. I sometimes say silly things like I was born late. Not even sure what I mean by that except I like music from the 60s & 70s when I was a wee lass. Many of my mainstay favorites were the first songs I ever heard. Without further ado, here is Long Cool Woman in a Black Dress. A song written by Allan Clarke, Roger Cook, and Roger Greenaway and performed by the British rock group The Hollies.

Saturday night I was downtown
Working for the FBI
Sittin’ in a nest of bad men
Whiskey bottles piling high

Bootlegging boozer on the west side
Full of people who are doing wrong
Just about to call up the DA man
When I heard this woman sing a song

A pair of 45’s made me open my eyes
My temperature started to rise
She was a long cool woman in a black dress
Just-a 5’9, beautiful, tall
With just one look I was a bad mess
‘Cause that long cool woman had it all

[Instrumental Interlude]

I saw her heading to the table
Like a tall walking big black cat
When Charlie said I hope that you’re able boy
‘Cause I’m telling you she knows where it’s at
Then suddenly we heard the sirens
And everybody started to run
A-jumping out of doors and tables
When I heard somebody shootin’ a gun
Well the DA was pumping my left hand

And a-she was a-holding my right
Well I told her don’t get scared
‘Cause you’re gonna be spared
I’ve gotta be forgivin’ if I wanna spend my living
With a long cool woman in a black dress
Just a 5’9 beautiful tall
Yeah, with just one look I was a bad mess

‘Cause that long cool woman had it all
Had it all
Had it all

Sunday Reflections: A Week in Review ~ 10/9/22

I’m friggin exhausted y’all. This week felt like a year. All a blur too. I don’t have the energy to even whine. Instead, here is the roll call, then I’m going back to bed.

The usual fodder …

#tshalloweenchallenge 

Peace y’all. Until next time. Stay safe.

As always, more to come.