Bats ~ 10/2/22

Time for Tourmaline .’s 2022 Halloween Challenge ping back to daily post #tshalloweenchallenge to locate me. Today’s prompt is bats!

My Lulu’s already has an appointment for the week of her birthday to get a bat tattoo. She likes them to a degree of making a permanent mark on her body. I find bats fascinating. One year we detoured to Carlsbad Cavern on our way to Lompoc CA, just to see the bats. I remember waiting & waiting. You can’t force mother nature & we never saw a mass flight from the cave that evening. Fun all the same. We learned a lot that trip. The largest bat colony is right here in Bracken, TX. Not sure why we haven’t been. Maybe we sign up for next year’s reservation only viewing opportunity.

Facts: Bats are the only flying mammal & without them, we’d say goodbye to mangoes, avocados & bananas. Echolocation is a fascinating phenomenon which involves bats making clicking sounds as they fly around.  They might not see well but echolocation makes up for that deficit. See, I told you, bats are fascinating.

As always, more to come.

#SLS ~ 10/2/22

The prompt is died at the age of 27 club. Thanks Jim for hosting. To me, Janis Joplin is the only choice. Beyond the Texas connection, she just resonates with me. Beauty in sadness, she was gone too soon. I couldn’t decide, so today is a Sunday twofer. First, “Me & Bobby McGee” Lyrics within Songwriters: F. Foster / K. Kristofferson with a link to the true story behind . Next, “Piece of My Heart” Songwriters: Jerry Ragovoy / Bert Russell. Footage from 1969 concert. ❤

Well, come on, come on, come on, come on

Didn’t I make you feel like you were the only man, well yeah
Didn’t I give you nearly everything that a woman possibly can
Honey, you know I did
And each time I tell myself that I, well I think I’ve had enough
But what I’m gonna show you, baby, that a woman can be tough
I want you to come on, come on, come on, come on and take it
Take another little piece of my heart now, baby
(Oh, oh, break it)
Break another little bit of my heart
Now, darling, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah
(Oh, oh, have a)
Have another little piece of my heart now, baby
You know you got it if it makes you feel good
Lord, yes indeed

You’re out on the streets looking good
And baby deep down in your heart I guess you know that it ain’t right
Never, never, never, never, never, never hear me when I cry at night
Babe, and I cry all the time
But each time I tell myself that I, well I can’t stand the pain
But when you hold me in your arms, I’ll sing it once again

I’ll say come on, come on, come on, come on and take it
Take another little piece of my heart now, baby
(Oh, oh, break it)
Break another little bit of my heart now, darling, yeah
(Oh, oh, have a)
Have another little piece of my heart now, baby
You know you got it, child, if it makes you feel good

I need you to come on, come on, come on, come on and take it
Take another little piece of my heart now, baby
(Oh, oh, break it)
Break another little bit of my heart, now darling, yeah, c’mon now
(Oh, oh, have a)
Have another little piece of my heart now, baby
You know you got it whoahhhhh

Take it
Take another little piece of my heart now, baby
(Oh, oh, break it)
Break another little bit of my
Heart, now darling, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah
(Oh, oh, have a)
Have another little piece of my heart now, baby, hey
You know you got it, child, if it makes you feel good

As always, more to come.

Sunday Reflections: A Week in Review ~ 10/2/22

Howdy y’all. I was going to use a werewolf feature image but I don’t have much space left in my free WP media plan. I looked for Halloweenie themed pictures. Yay pumpkin candies. The werewolf picture will be on my FB account & my Instagram sometime this month. I LOVE October. The weather gets milder, not cold yet but better all around. In the morning especially it feels soooo good. Sensory & tactile pleasantries help my mood. It’s the little things.

I had my first physical therapy appointment this past Thursday at the new/old place. I went back to Physical Rehabilitation Institute by work since I’m going into the office anyway. Not an extra commute any longer if I’m already there. The prior facility did me no favors considering I was worse off when they released me. Best to make the switch.

Two things make this place better. The rack & the electronic stimuli with ice. Since this was only the 1st evaluation, I wasn’t put on the rack but next time. I can hardly contain myself. I did get 15 minutes of ice though. Full power (Are you sure? she asked. My response a resounding Yes!). Then, as I drove to work, I cried. A big blubbering, snot nosed cry. For the first time, in no idea how long, I felt no pain. NONE! I had forgotten y’all. Bliss! Pain-free bliss! I knew my relief was temporary & I have to do the work & get the shots but I have hope again. That fickle bitch. Hope that I might just be well again.

Thursday I also had tire trouble but even that could not get me down. I got a quick air refill but yesterday I had my tires rotated & balanced. I measure/remember things by events. I was sure I got new tires NYE 12/31/21 & was within the 6-8K mile range but nope NYE 12/31/20 with 10K miles put on the tires. Uh oh, I was late for a very important date. Now I’m back on track, making note that at 118K miles, I will need another rotation. I only put 10K miles in 1 year 9 months. Now that is something. This from the girl who made multiple round trip visits to daughter in Corpus & added 250 miles each week driving to the office. I’m glad hybrid work has become a thing.

Ok, I have blathered on long enough. Here’s the roll call. Reverse order yet again.

Peace y’all. Until next time. Stay safe.

As always, more to come.