Not Again! ~ 7/4/21

Every month since January, we have had issues with our cell phone bill. We traded in phones for steep discounts. Instead of applying the credit and dividing the remainder into 30 installments, they charged the full original amount of the phone and deduct a portion of the credit each month. Also, they have removed the ability for an early payoff. Following along on their accounting nightmare has been the opposite of fun. Every month I call and every month, they “fix” the error only to have the error occur again.

I must be better about hiding my irritation because today, this is what I was told via chat. J with nameless provider: I must admit that you’re one of the most polite and understanding customer I have chatted with today. Thank you so much. Ha! You’ve no idea sir. Then the rat bastard tried to sell me two Apple watches with $200 in promotional savings. Uh bite me! You can’t even get basic billing correct; I’m not buying anything else from you. Ever! Though a teeny tiny piece of me feels bad you had to work today.

Ok, back to our 4th of July festivities. Hotdogs and brats on the grill with fun drink combinations from Sonic. That’s what we call livin’ on the edge.

As always, more to come.

#SLS ~ 7/4/21

Jim prompts us with American music which is any song played by an American group. I thought I’d go with something that had America in the title but surprisingly the first two tunes I came across were written by groups who hailed for England. Then I looked for songs that mentioned 50 states. Meh. Not feeling it.

I decided to surf around and found a hidden gem. This article about 25 Famous Musicians with San Antonio Roots was calling me. Pick one of us, pick one of us … But how do I choose? Eyes closed and virtual dart board. Doug Sahm formed the Sir Douglas Quintet with Augie Meyers. More at the wiki. Without further ado, here is “She’s About a Mover” songwriter Doug Sahm.

Well, she was a-walkin’ down the street, lookin’ fine as she could be.
Hey, hey!
Well, she was a-walkin’ down the street, lookin’ fine as she could be.
Hey, hey!
Well, you have love and conversation,
Whoa, yeah, what I say!
Hey, hey!
She’s about a mover.
She’s about a mover.
She’s about a mover.
She’s about a mover.
Hey, hey, hey, hey,
What I say!
She’s about a mover.
She’s about a mover.
Well, you know I love you, baby.
Whoa, yeah, what I say!
Hey, hey!Well, she strolled on up to me and said,
“Hey, big boy, what’s your name?”
Hey, hey!
Well, she strolled on up to me and said,
“Hey, big boy, what’s your name?”
Hey, hey!
Well, you know I love you, baby.
Whoa, yeah, what I say,
Hey, hey!
She’s about a mover.
She’s about a mover.
She’s about a mover.
She’s about a mover.
Hey, hey, hey, hey

I Can’t Remember ~ 7/4/21

I created my Tidbits and Ramblings categories for two distinct reasons of which I do not recall which means I mix-match what goes where. Are Tidbits when I’m needing to release the hounds or is that rambling? Of course I always ramble. In fact, that was the original name of this blog J-Dub’s Musing & Ramblings until I realized how many others used some version of rambling or musing as well. Of course Grin & Bear It isn’t original. But it’s what I do and why it fits.

And at least I got reflections down pat. That’s when I look back at something. Usually. Oh hell what do I know? I should just file everything under LIFE. Ha!!

Okay. Some serious shit is about to go down. Or not because this is not my story to tell but I am impacted deeply despite being a casual observer, on the outskirts, praying.

Watching life happen to people you care about is both beautiful and ugly, tender and rough, salty and sweet. Are you picking up what I’m putting down? Yep, your smarts are obvious. I can’t pull a fast one on anyone of y’all. All y’all. You all. Ha! E’nuf of that nonsense.

I have a foreboding, waiting for the other shoe to drop. I don’t know why I can’t be happy for this person. I keep MSU = making stuff up. I can’t forgive, forget, or trust. I’m sure that is because I was dropped on my head as a child or something. Sheesh. Seriously.

I marvel at anyone who can give unconditional love. We should all be so lucky. Hell I was the recipient of a love you know matter what you do, here for you all the time kind of love yet I can’t return in kind. I say well that’s because I never did anything so terrible. But I did worse. I’m a sinner. Depending on whose authority one judges.

And besides that’s the thing about unconditional love. It’s not about what you do or don’t do. It’s not you’re bad but I love you anyway. Unconditional love is NOT love without boundaries. I’m protecting myself in case it happens again, so that I do not get hurt.

That control thing is in the picture again. Has to stop! If I ask and get an answer, I accept the response. Done! If I’m a fool to believe, so be it. If the worst happens, I couldn’t have prevented it nor can I change it anyway. I’ll simply deal with the aftermath.

I know haven’t spilled the beans here and perhaps you’re wondering that the heck is she going on about. Don’t mind me. Same ole, same ole, overthinking. Madness, pure madness.

As always, more to come.

Sunday Reflections: A Week in Review ~ 7/4/21

Happy Birthday America! A year ago we were mask wearing, un-vaccinated, and under restrictions. I think? I’m sure about the un-vaccinated part and the mask wearing for sure but I don’t recall if the restrictions were of our own device. Hamilton was released on Disney + and I watched it on a loop. We also got two dollar Margaritas at Taco Cabana to celebrate the 4th. Yep, drive through drinking. There are rules, it’s not all willy nilly but it is something Texas kept. Open container laws still apply which meant the tequila came in a cute lil airline sized bottle. Yeah buddy!

Ok this is a week in review not an anniversary so let’s go onward through the fog to reminisce about last week. Reverse roll call, keeping it short and saweeeet!

Hmmm. I was chattier that I remembered with three days of twofers. Oh well.

Peace y’all. Until next time. Stay safe.

As always, more to come.