#SLS ~ 2/21/21

Jim gives us Long/Short/Small/Tall for our prompts. I had the most fun surfing around You Tube. More songs than I ever imagined and that was starting with long. I never even moved on to short/small/tall. Well one of the songs that almost caught me did have Long, Tall & Texan but I back burned that one. Opting instead for 70s gold. “Long Cool Woman (In A Black Dress)” was released in April of 1972, hitting #2 on Billboard Hot 100 in September that year. Writer(s): Roger Cook, Roger John Reginald Greenaway, Alan Clarke – performed by The Hollies.

Someone wrote this song is one of best CCR songs not done by CCR. There was a bit of a tussle with John Fogerty settling out of court for half the proceeds. More on this at the wiki.

Saturday night I was downtown
Working for the FBI
Sittin’ in a nest of bad men
Whiskey bottles piling high

Bootlegging boozer on the west side
Full of people who are doing wrong
Just about to call up the DA man
When I heard this woman sing a song

A pair of 45’s made me open my eyes
My temperature started to rise
She was a long cool woman in a black dress
Just-a 5’9, beautiful, tall
With just one look I was a bad mess
‘Cause that long cool woman had it all

[Instrumental Interlude]

I saw her heading to the table
Like a tall walking big black cat
When Charlie said I hope that you’re able boy
‘Cause I’m telling you she knows where it’s at
Then suddenly we heard the sirens
And everybody started to run
A-jumping out of doors and tables
When I heard somebody shootin’ a gun
Well the DA was pumping my left hand

And a-she was a-holding my right
Well I told her don’t get scared
‘Cause you’re gonna be spared
I’ve gotta be forgivin’ if I wanna spend my living
With a long cool woman in a black dress
Just a 5’9 beautiful tall
Yeah, with just one look I was a bad mess
‘Cause that long cool woman had it all
Had it all
Had it all

Now for part two because I simply couldn’t choose, here is more 70s gold with AC/DC’s “It’s A Long Way To The Top (If You Wanna Rock ‘N’ Roll)”. Released in December 1975. Writer(s): Angus McKinnon Young, Malcolm Young, and Ronald Belford (Bon) Scott. Those bagpipes!! I’m telling ya what! More at the wiki.

Ridin’ down the highway
Goin’ to a show
Stop in all the byways
Playin’ rock ‘n’ roll
Gettin’ robbed
Gettin’ stoned
Gettin’ beat up
Broken boned
Gettin’ had
Gettin’ took
I tell you folks
It’s harder than it looks

It’s a long way to the top if you wanna rock ‘n’ roll
It’s a long way to the top if you wanna rock ‘n’ roll
If you think it’s easy doin’ one night stands
Try playin’ in a rock roll band
It’s a long way to the top if you wanna rock ‘n’ roll

Hotel motel
Make you wanna cry
Lady do the hard sell
Know the reason why
Gettin’ old
Gettin’ grey
Gettin’ ripped off
Under-paid
Gettin’ sold
Second hand
That’s how it goes
Playin’ in a band

It’s a long way to the top if you wanna rock ‘n’ roll
It’s a long way to the top if you wanna rock ‘n’ roll
If you wanna be a star of stage and screen
Look out it’s rough and mean

It’s a long way to the top if you wanna rock ‘n’ roll
It’s a long way to the top if you wanna rock ‘n’ roll
It’s a long way to the top if you wanna rock ‘n’ roll
It’s a long way to the top if you wanna rock ‘n’ roll

Well it’s a long way
It’s a long way, you should’ve told me
It’s a long way, such a long way

As always more to come

Sunday Reflections: A Week in Review

The feature image has never been more fitting I tell ya what!!!! The crazy started on Valentines Day 2021 or Valentines night. I stayed up late because I had the next day off. Pony walked in and tells me to look outside, it is snowing. I said eff this shit and went to bed. We woke up to 4 inches of snow, blanketing our almost 5 acres, setting the most picturesque winter wonderland. Pony had to work, virtual since March 2020 and covering for co-workers with ice skating rink living rooms and other assorted issues. B and Lulu took out the Polaris and had a day playing in the snow. I took a few pictures from indoors but mainly I read my book. What a nice way to spend my day!!

The weatherman was not exactly right. There was no immediate warm up. Sunday night/Monday snow stayed around as we hit single digit temps and stayed in the 20s before warming up some on Wednesday. Then again on Thursday, it snowed almost the entire day. Less coverage than that first snow, the grass continued to peek through. Friday with the exception of the north side right up on the porch everything was melted. Saturday got up to 64 degrees. Yay buddy!!

We didn’t experience the rolling blackouts that roamed the city and we had water that first day. By Tuesday, the water was out. Calling San Antonio Water System (SAWS) trying to get answers and being told “It’s a homeowners issue to have frozen pipes” (our pipes never froze) and/or being hung up on. Eventually learning through neighborhood sneakernet that the pump station servicing our area was offline.

SAWS pointed fingers at City Public Service (CPS) who pointed at the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT). But I won’t get into the political nature of how what happened could happen. Two sides to every story (or three+ sides to every story). Or maybe I will … a tad bit. Give my two cents … now that the worst is over and I can be somewhat rational.

I don’t blame anyone. If pushed to name someone, then I blame Mother Nature. Who as an inanimate cannot truly be blamed. Back to no one. CPS for us anyway was a hero. Not once did we lose power. Not even a blip. I am sad and do not make light for all who did. Heartbreaking devastation!!! But damn those CPS workers soldiered on working to get everyone back to full power. Spectrum our ISP also never failed us. Such a shock considering all our issues pre-storm. AT&T kept the cell phones going. ERCOT who I had never even heard of before this storm are greedy fucking bastards in my opinion. Yet I have to ask what big businesses aren’t? We are a capitalist society. America, she has been very very good to me. Am I part of the problem? Now that’s a story for another day.

Not investing in infrastructure for an uncertain 1 in 100 year storm is somewhat understandable. Dare I say prudent? Nope? Too far. Yep! Too far. “They” whoever “they” are saying we’d be paying more for those infrastructure improvements over the 99 years of no need passing cost down to future generations. Supposedly in the long run the cost of this event is less than the improvements would have been. Why shell out all that cash for a one time use? If you can “believe” them.

Bottom line is they gambled and WE lost while some greedy mo-fos (two) who are not even residents of this great state made out like bandits. Now the shit hit the fan and at least 47 people are dead. We may not know the total death toll for a while as bodies are eventually found. That is horrific and unimaginable to me.

Through this all I am grateful. I will never take flushing a toilet or taking a shower for granted ever again. We were spared from the worst. Yes we didn’t have running water for 3 1/2 days but we had melted snow bucket water, gifted hose water, and bottled water. We continued to have our dinner time meal. We had heat (thanks to our freshly filled propane tank, they came to fill last Sunday afternoon) which we kept at 62 degrees, layering up in solidarity for those faring much much worse. B was in constant survival mode making sure we (and his parents) had everything we needed.

Now after all my blustering, here is the roll call.

#SLS ~ 2/14/21

Haiku – Bird & Blow 2/15/21

Share Your World 🌎 ~ 2/16/21

Go Stand In The Corner ~ 2/17/21

#1linerWeds. 2/17/21

Thursday Thoughts ~ 2/18/21

Meanwhile Somewhere in Texas ~ 2/18/21

Friday Book Club: J Dub’s Review of “Not One of Us” by Debbie Herbert ~ 2/19/21

#SoCS ~ 2/20/21

And end scene!

Peace y’all. Until next time. Stay safe.

As always, more to come.