#SLS for 9/6/20

The prompts today are opera/musical. I went with musical … made for the big screen not Broadway. The song I chose gets me every time I hear it. An anthem for all the outcasts. From The Greatest Showman “This is Me”. Songwriters: Benj Pasek and Justin Paul known together as Pasek and Paul. Performed by Keala Settle (Lettie Lutz) & Ensemble. This video captures such a special wonderful moment. I hope you enjoy as much as I do. Ready? Grab the tissues.

I’m not a stranger to the dark
Hide away, they say
‘Cause we don’t want your broken parts
I’ve learned to be ashamed of all my scars
Run away, they say
No one will love you as you are

But I won’t let them break me down to dust
I know that there’s a place for us
For we are glorious

When the sharpest words wanna cut me down
I’m gonna send a flood, gonna drown them out
I am brave, I am bruised
I am who I’m meant to be, this is me
Look out ’cause here I come
And I’m marching on to the beat I drum
I’m not scared to be seen
I make no apologies, this is me

Another round of bullets hits my skin
Well, fire away ’cause today, I won’t let the shame sink in
We are bursting through the barricades
And reaching for the sun (we are warriors)
Yeah, that’s what we’ve become

Won’t let them break me down to dust
I know that there’s a place for us
For we are glorious

When the sharpest words wanna cut me down
Gonna send a flood, gonna drown them out
I am brave, I am bruised
I am who I’m meant to be, this is me
Look out ’cause here I come
And I’m marching on to the beat I drum
I’m not scared to be seen
I make no apologies, this is me

…This is me

And I know that I deserve your love
There’s nothing I’m not worthy of
When the sharpest words wanna cut me down
I’m gonna send a flood, gonna drown them out
This is brave, this is bruised
This is who I’m meant to be, this is me

Look out ’cause here I come (look out ’cause here I come)
And I’m marching on to the beat I drum (marching on, marching, marching on)
I’m not scared to be seen
I make no apologies, this is me

(Whenever the words wanna cut me down
I’ll send the flood to drown them out)
I’m gonna send the flood, gonna drown them out

This is me

Sunday Reflections ~ 9/6/20

Pacing Myself by J-Dub

When I first started here on Word Press I was a prolific purveyor of bull crap. I had illusions of grandeur that somehow I’d become a writer. Not a published author as I realized early on I am suited for stream of consciousness in short bursts. Any story line I attempt to author would be a cluster. I learned that being a voracious reader does not equate to knowing how to put together a story. Instead, reading lets me know what I like where I can sit in judgment as I think writing is easy … hell even I could do that.

LOL. ‘Tis true. But I’d be wrong. Writing is hard y’all.

Maybe I still am a prolific purveyor of bull crap aka PPOBC considering how I kicked off this post. In the beginning, there was light!

Cough. cough <ahem>

Stay on track Jilly.

In the beginning, I wrote often to “release the hounds”. To scribble out those thoughts in a flurry is an emotional release that helped me deal. Writing has and will always be therapeutic to me. Can I get an alleluia? Or at least an amen! Nope? Well moving on then.

Times are still tough. Worse even than on that terribly hot July 2016 day where I started back again in earnest. Ernest Goes to Camp! Ugh. Stop wandering mind; stay put!

These days I want people to think well of me which is why I am keeping things light instead of making things heavy. Laughter has saved my bacon a time or two. Being silly Jilly is a coping mechanism. Finally a healthy way to deal that does not involve eating my feelings. I may stumble into the shadows a bit time and again but I’ll be right back out. Progress over perfection or some such nonsense from the Koolaid fountain at virtual work. Zen, deep breath in. I have a pattern and set rhythm that comforts me.

Sunday – Song Lyric Sunday and Reflection on the week prior

Monday – Haiku

Tuesday – Share Your World

Wednesday – #1linerWeds.

Thursday – Miscellaneous/Story Time

Friday – Ramblings/Book Club

Saturday – Stream of Consciousness #SoCS

Only one post a day … maybe two tops. I’d like to think pacing myself has helped me improve my writing skills. Practice makes perfect and all that jazz. Anywho, that is all … for now. But and it’s a BIG fat ass …

As always, more to come.

P.S. Things I hate about block editor. Adding links in any other space besides “classic block” which shows up as unsupported and not editable on my phone or iPad. You’ve got to be a freaking programmer to insert a link. What language? Are you freaking kidding me? Java my butt. I can copy paste a url but I want to add the text for the link, not just show the ugly url. <p> blah blah kiss my ass <p> that’s wrong … yeah buddy I know it … ain’t nobody got time for this sh*t!!