Friday Book Club ~ 9/4/20

For a while, after COVID, I could not read. Well I could read in the sense that I still knew how.

Duh! Jilly, just move on.

Alrighty. Moving on …

I was too distracted and stressed to concentrate. I seriously could not keep a thought in my head when it came to reading for pleasure. A task that was once my go-to “self-care” me time thing to do.

Now I am happy to announce, I’m back! Woo to the Hoo!

Andromeda Strain broke the curse back in July.  I marked two more off the TBR queue in August.  Thank you SAPL online goodness.  Time to review them now.

“Ask Again Yes” by Mary Beth Keane per goodreads: A profoundly moving novel about two neighboring families in a suburban town, the friendship between their children, a tragedy that reverberates over four decades, the daily intimacies of marriage, and the power of forgiveness.
How much can a family forgive?

My Review:  Acceptance and forgiveness are central themes. Love conquers all for childhood sweethearts Kate and Peter.  Lots of little stories within the bigger arc.  Each of them showed the flaws of humanity but also what can be overcome.

No spoilers here. My rating 4 of 5 stars.  

“An American Marriage” by Tayari Jones per goodreads:  Newlyweds, Celestial and Roy, are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive and she is artist on the brink of an exciting career. They are settling into the routine of their life together, when they are ripped apart by circumstances neither could have imagined. 

My Review:  This could be ripped from the headlines.  Powerful stories of relationships and the power of living through adversity that changes you to your core.  Demonstrates strength and what one can bear. Something good rises from the ashes.  Left with a sadness for what might have been.

My rating 4 of 5 stars.

I am batting a 1000 with the above choices.  I am 2/3 of the way through “The Boy” by Tami Hoag.  I’ll  report back on that one another random Friday.