Share Your World ~ 9/8/20

My favorite exercise of the week. Thanks to Melanie and Roger for the questions. Here goes everything šŸ™‚

Rogerā€™s Magical, Mystical Questions

  1. What happened to cause you to discover ā€˜bulliesā€ were real? Wow, out of the gate with a deep question. My brother who is 11 months older than me is special needs. Because of this I have never known a life without bullies. Sad but true. Some of my earliest recollections were of people making fun of him.
  2. Eavesdropping- When given the chance, how often do you eavesdrop?   (this may be a similar question to what some folks said theyā€™d do with an invisibility cloak) In my younger days, I would try and find out what was going on no matter what. This meant I spent a lot time outside many a closed door straining to hear what was being said on the other side. Now that I am older I realize being out of the loop is a much better than being in the know. Ignorance is bliss or some such sentiment.
  3. Escalators, at one time, were the ā€˜next big thingā€™. When was the last time you rode an escalator? Friday March 6, 2020. My last day in the office. The mother-ship rivals the size of the Pentagon. Connected buildings A to H with Ops and M. Three floors and a service level. All with escalators. To get my healthy points, I often took the stairwell but as I was leaving for Spring Break, my hands were full which meant the escalator was a safer option. Not safe mind you, just safer. That day I should have taken the elevator but patience is not my thing. I’d rather brave a tumble down the moving stairs. Rebel that I am. If we ever get to go back, I am going to ride those elevators with abandon!!
  4. Have you ever ā€˜letā€™ someone win in a sports competition or a board game? How did it turn out?   No I am a horribly competitive person who wants to win. I take my licks too. Win or lose fair and square is my preference.

Melanieā€™s Muggle Questions:

Iā€™m very short on time today (Sunday) so Iā€™m borrowing from Rory and Sandmanjazz to fill the questions today:

Do our fears start with our DNA?  (Credit to Rory) Interesting question but I’m going with no. Fears are not genetic but rather learned in my humble very non-scientific opinion.

If you could have your hair any colour for 24 hours, what colour would you choose?  (Credit to Sandmanjazz) It’s rightful gray without the colored reddish brown ends that I plan to cut off just as soon as it is safe to go out again. I’d never forgive myself if I contracted COVID and/or brought it home to my family for something as vain as my hair.

When do you think a person gets old?Ā  (Credit to Rory) Well when I was 18, old was in your 30s. Now in my 50s, I’d say old is a state of mind. Actually, I’ve been old all my life. And that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

Funny story. My friend Melissa and I played volleyball. The summer after senior year we were out of sorts with nothing to do. Volleyball had always filled the void. She found a church team for us to join and I’ll never forget her begging me to go with her. “Jill you have to sign up too; they are all old … like in their 30s”. Gasp! <the horrors> Now I have a 32 year old son.

Gratitude Moment: Realizing this too shall pass when in the thick of “it” whatever “it” might be brings me peace. And for that peace, I am grateful. Now if I can just remember that for next time things get rocky.