#SoCS ~ 9/4/21

Woo hoo! Time for #SoCS where the lovely Linda writes and I copy paste “Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “pin.” Use it as a noun, use it as a verb, use it any way you’d like. Have fun!” Boy howdy, we’re cooking with gas. If you’d like to join in, HERE are the rules and ping back.

Pin the story of a candy stuff piñata by one J-Dub McGillicutty.

Haha 🙂 or lame! My first thought was pin the tail on the donkey or any such version of the same game. I think back in the day, we had a game where we’d try to pin the nose on the clown’s face. This game was not for the faint of heart, we used real PINS. You know as opposed to fake ones. Tacks really.

My stream continued to flow to the neighborhood children’s b-day parties that we had back in the day which is why NEXT a big bright piñata popped into my brain. Being the sensitive soul that I was/is/am, I was always nervous. I worried that I would get smacked with the stick instead of the donkey. Then when the contents of El Burro spilled to the ground, I always hung back to let others grab the goods first. If I was lucky I’d get a piece of bubble gum by the time the others were through. I remember a few parties where the mom gave me something sidebar since I didn’t get anything. She’d say Pobrecito, then dish me a few chocolate tootsie rolls.

I’m now at a point where I could wallow in the memories but good ones so maybe just maybe wallow shouldn’t have been my verb of choice.

Alrighty, the flow is getting stuck, one last hail Mary. I dislike the phrase ‘let’s put a pin in it’. Another way to say be quiet, we’ll back burner this bad boy which is double speak for we’ll never come back to it again. I mean c’mon, has anyone ever experienced going back to the pin once said pin has been put in it?? Nope! Never! I thought so. LOL.

I’m off to the hill country with my honey. Making the most of the long weekend. Have a safe Labor Day one and all. Ta-ta for now.

As always more to come.

15 thoughts on “#SoCS ~ 9/4/21

  1. Mom said that when she was teaching the Mexican kids would bring a piñata on their birthday. She said there was one kid who would dive on the pile of candy and wouldn’t get up…

    How about “bathe” or “soak” instead of “wallow”?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I knew a few kids like that. They would always have twice as much as anyone else. As a kid that candy pile seems never-ending. And soak for the win. That’s a much better word to use here than wallow.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment