Share Your World ~ 9/7/21

Melanie gives us the questions and we serve up the answers. Hope you enjoy this weekly treat. To join in, go back and click on ‘Melanie’ for there you will find the rules and ping back.

QUESTIONS

Do you believe in soul-mates?  (my definition of ‘soul mate’ is the IDEAL partner romantically). Why yes, yes I do because I’ve met mine. I’ve been married to him for 37 years as of 9/15. B & I have actually known each other since I was 12 & he was 13. We didn’t know we were soulmates at the time of course. B was just my best friend’s father’s best friend’s son. Say that 3 times fast. lol. I imagine for someone who has yet to meet their soulmate that they might say nope, soulmates are not a thing. And I guess for them, that’s true.

What are three scents you like?

1- Rose since it reminds me of my mamaw.

2- Vanilla because in my sister’s first apartment, she used vanilla scented candles to decorate. I thought that was tre-chique. I vividly remember one of the candles was shaped like a light bulb. Even more vogue. I mean c’mon it was the 70s. I’d sit there in the comfyiness that was her place and feel safe. If I think about it, I can smell vanilla now. Ahhh now that’s the stuff.

3- Rain – yep it has a smell. Reminds me of playing in the rain. Dashing on and off the front porch with my brothers. Getting soaked. Then, when we were done and ready to dry off, mom would bring us warm towels from the dryer that smelled like the Downy equivalent since name brand stuff was way too expensive. Guess that’s a fourth scent … clothes from the dryer.

What are some things that you might be considered too old to do, but that you enjoy? Hmm. I don’t consider myself too old to do anything. What I enjoy doing is ageless. Reading, writing, listening to music. Soaking in culture at a museum. Walking, hiking, being out in nature. Swinging on my garden swing.

What is one food you absolutely refuse to share? Hmm. There isn’t any food I’d absolutely not share. In fact, to me, food is meant to be shared. Family style dinners are the best. I’m reminded of my favorite restaurant, Hsiu Yu’s. Sadly this family owned gem has been closed since 2016. Mama Hsiu and her husband retired and the kids didn’t want to continue in the restaurant biz. Before the doors were closed for good, I went there on my birthday every year for easily three decades. Anytime I had a random day off, that was my lunch spot. How’s that for customer loyalty?!?! They had four or so tables set up with lazy susans in the middle. The dishes were set on the lazy susan so you could spin it around to get a bite of everything.

GRATITUDE SECTION (as always, optional)

Please feel free to share something positive!    Well, today my gratitude is a no brainer. I’m grateful for this prompt, that Melanie hosts us each week, and for the feels that writing my answers gave me. Life is good y’all. Leaving you with a musical interlude.

As always, more to come.