Heartbroken

A dear friend passed away unexpectedly last night. I am stunned and in disbelief.  I go to the keyboard to process my feelings.  She would understand.  That was her gift.

We grew up together in a small close knit community.  My dad and her mom were co-workers for a time.  We parted ways as life would have it.  The last time I saw her was at a funeral where we stayed behind after the Rosary to catch up.  Just like time had stopped and never separated us.  Our connections remained despite changes in geography.  We planned many a time to get together but something usually intervened. I always knew that through the miracle of technology, she was never more than a click away.

I have extracted two years worth of texts and FB messages onto a 50 page Word document.  I wanted to keep something tangible.  I may even turn our conversations into a new category – Quotes from Cat. My wise sweet friend.  Gone too soon.

What’d we ever do before Internet?  Get in the horse and buggy and go to the annual barn dance?  I only partially joke.  Say what you will about privacy but I for one am forever grateful social media exists even though it does not replace a phone call or face to face.

She was one of my first followers on the blog.  Directly via Word Press too, not just through FB sharing.  She encouraged me to keep on writing and keep on smiling.  She had this innate ability to know when I most needed a friend and she’d pop up on messenger with impeccable timing.  “You’re on my mind” she’d write.  And I’d feel her warmth and caring.  This is her last note to me:

Thank you so much for sharing the stories. Beautiful. Isn’t it amazing how things work out for the best? Love you. Even if life keeps us from seeing each other for years our common beginnings keep us “family”

Not going with my usual sign off.  I need a break from the MORE that is inevitably to come.  Not to be too preachy but oh what the hell.  I am going to testify.  Stop whatever  fool thing is preventing you from having a life worth living.  Pay it forward! Hug your loved ones and never be the first to let go.  Tell the people in your life what they mean to you while they are still around to hear it.

For 5/27/18 ~ Hold On by Wilson Phillips

Time once again for #SLS.  I look forward to this each week.  Our hostess Helen with a little help from her friend has picked a theme to use over the next week or two.  Today’s prompt is “let go”.  Find more info here at the  rules and ping back.

I am just going to say it.  I can’t let go.  That’s my problem.  Well one of my problems.  I have multiple problems ya see.  Lol!

In an attempt to spin the prompt, I picked the opposite of “let go” which is “hold on”.  Yep I’ve been holding on for one more day for as long as I can remember.  Hope she is a fickle bitch.  And I’m fortunate, I know that.  Just that there are days man.  I’m telling ya.  Waiting for this cycle of worries to pass me by.

Disclaimer: I have no copyrights to the song and/or video and/or hyperlinks to songs and/or videos and/or gifs above. No copyright infringement intended.

“Hold On”
I know this pain
Why do you lock yourself up in these chains?
No one can change your life except for you
Don’t ever let anyone step all over you
Just open your heart and your mind
Is it really fair to feel this way inside?

Some day somebody’s gonna make you want to
Turn around and say goodbye
Until then baby are you going to let them
Hold you down and make you cry
Don’t you know?
Don’t you know things can change
Things’ll go your way
If you hold on for one more day
Can you hold on for one more day
Things’ll go your way
Hold on for one more day

You could sustain
Or are you comfortable with the pain?
You’ve got no one to blame for your unhappiness
You got yourself into your own mess
Lettin’ your worries pass you by
Don’t you think it’s worth your time
To change your mind?

Some day somebody’s gonna make you want to
Turn around and say goodbye
Until then baby are you going to let them
Hold you down and make you cry
Don’t you know?
Don’t you know things can change
Things’ll go your way
If you hold on for one more day
Can you hold on for one more day
Things’ll go your way
Hold on for one more day

I know that there is pain
But you hold on for one more day and
Break free from the chains
Yeah I know that there is pain
But you hold on for one more day and you
Break free, break from the chains

Some day somebody’s gonna make you want to
Turn around and say goodbye
Until then baby are you going to let them
Hold you down and make you cry
Don’t you know?
Don’t you know things can change
Things’ll go your way
If you hold on for one more day yeah
If you hold on

Don’t you know things can change
Things’ll go your way
If you hold on for one more day,
If you hold on
Can you hold on
Hold on baby
Won’t you tell me now
Hold on for one more day ‘Cause
It’s gonna go your way

Don’t you know things can change
Things’ll go your way
If you hold on for one more day
Can’t you change it this time

Make up your mind
Hold on
Hold on
Baby hold on

Writer(s): Glen Ballard, Carnie Wilson, Chynna Phillips
As always, more to come.

Addendum to Being Healthy

Pays to shop around. The regular HEB has Rainer cherries 🍒 for 6.98 a lb. They sell non organic limes for 15 cents each. The Gucci B stands on its own. Not really an apples to apples comparison. Just goes to show. Show what? I have no idea. Just rambling. Have a wonderful Sunday bloglandia.

As always more to come.