Uh Ya So

I’ve been battling insomnia but not blogging about it. Surprised 😮?? Why of course you are cuz I’m a whiner and complainer. I decided mind over matter. I continued all my steps even as they failed me:

  • No caffeine after lunch
  • No looking at the clock if I do wake up
  • No blue light for an hour before bedtime
  • Reading before bedtime
  • Saying my prayers again just like I did as a kid
  • Essential oils

And guess what? For the last two nights I slept through. I probably just jinxed myself for tonight but I’m banking on three in a row. Ten minutes until the electronics go off and the book comes out. Wish me luck 🍀

J-Dub’s Review of Alternate Side by Anna Quindlen

No spoilers. Fiction masquerading as real life. Decisions we make for the benefit of others. We’ve lost control and at best we’re planning for things that eventually change. Buy the white couch if you want it no matter what anyone else says. In this case, I’m more like Charlie than Nora. Wonder when my midlife crisis will hit?

I’ve read One True Thing made into movie and Black and Blue by the same author. Vastly different stories yet the human element was exactly the same. Creating characters that I could imagine being next door to me. Escapism at its’ finest. A recommended read. 4.2 of 5 stars ✨

As always more to come.

So … The Medical Meat Market

I share in case someone can relate.  This is not medical advice.  No duh as the kids say.  The following is my opinion.  Names will be changed to protect the guilty. This may be real or fantasy. With me ya never know.

I took some time off from this topic.  Stressful situation and being in denial is much preferred.  But today I am back.  Now where was I?  Oh ya.

I sat for 30 minutes in the cube aka room #15 and watched the scrolling billboard (which tends to validate my this is a meat market mentality).  I tried to look at my WordPress reader but the internet was spotty at best.  On the walls were pictures of a golf course in Scotland.  One of the best in the world.  Which I am sure my doctor visits regularly.  I mean he only sees people once before passing them off to the PA or NP.  He’s bound to have the time. But I digress. All that is written about here.

Part of the labs were in-house, the blood work part.  The girl who drew my blood was brand new.  She jabbed my right arm, started the draw then promptly said “uh ya, this won’t work, the blood is flowing too slow” She went for my left arm and after take two, she got 8 viles of blood.

I barely made it through y’all.  I heard her trainer say “She’s going down” as I passed out right when the viper was finishing that last tube. I came to and out came the ice packs and cold water to drink.  I sat there, dizzy and nauseous.  They offered me crackers but barf, no way.  I stayed another 15 minutes.  Head down, taking deep breaths as they continued to bring in others for their turn.  If I had seen me sitting there, I’d have refused.  Not that I was embarassed for passing out.  I couldn’t control that but I certainly was not enjoying being a specimen. And I have to wonder what the other two people in the chairs next to me thought.

I went home with my 24 hour urine collection kit and an appointment for follow-up.

As always, more to come.

#SoCS for 5/5/18 ~ Letter

Good morning everyone.  Time once again for #SoCS.  The lovely Linda has given us our prompt which is letter.  Yay!  If you’d like to join this band of merry prompt respondents, look here for all the details.  Oh and read some of the offerings while you are there.

Letter by J-Dub McGillicutty

Conscience: Really?  Starting off like that and the people are going to expect something really good.  What if you disappoint?

J-Dub: Then I disappoint.  All this writing stuff is purely selfish anyway.  I write for ME!!! Nobody cares.  This blog is my personal letter to myself.  Like a journal of sorts.  I come here to get the random thoughts outta my head and onto the page before the buggers kill me.  It is exactly like writing a letter. Here I go.  Letter.  Think, think and think.

Conscience: Don’t you think that part should be done while you’re brushing your teeth or singing in the shower?  Nobody wants to listen to you think, think and think.

J-Dub ignoring that little voice in her head. She remembers yester-years.  How exciting it was to get a letter in the mail.  Pen pals as part of a school project.  Letters written home from summertime sleep away camp.  Then she shares the following little ditty.  The Marvelettes are marvelous.  And you’re welcome. lol 🙂

Disclaimer: I have no copyrights to the song and/or video and/or hyperlinks to songs and/or videos and/or gifs above. No copyright infringement intended.

Please Mr. Postman” is a song written by Georgia Dobbins, William Garrett, Freddie Gorman, Brian Holland, and Robert Bateman. It is the debut single by the Marvelettes for the Tamla (Motown) label.

As always, more to come.