#SLS ~ 8/15/21

Jim prompts with Danger, Fear, Horror, Nightmare, Terror. Oh the places we could go! I picked what I believe to be a classic. Not sure if we’ll have multiples but I’m tossing this song out there regardless. I’m feeling a 70s vibe. I did find an abridged version to stay within my own self imposed rule of under 5 minutes. Damn if that guitar solo doesn’t get you moving, not sure what will.

Without further ado, (Don’t Fear) The Reaper by American band Blue Oyster Cult. Song Writer:  Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser who wrote this while imagining an untimely death for himself. Thank goodness he’s still with us.

All our times have come
Here but now they’re gone
Seasons don’t fear the reaper
Nor do the wind, the sun or the rain
We can be like they are

Come on, baby (don’t fear the reaper)
Baby, take my hand (don’t fear the reaper)
We’ll be able to fly (don’t fear the reaper)
Baby, I’m your man

La, la, la, la, la
La, la, la, la, la

Valentine is done
Here but now they’re gone
Romeo and Juliet
Are together in eternity (Romeo and Juliet)
40, 000 men and women everyday (like Romeo and Juliet)
40, 000 men and women everyday (redefine happiness)
Another 40, 000 coming everyday (we can be like they are)

Come on, baby (don’t fear the reaper)
Baby, take my hand (don’t fear the reaper)
We’ll be able to fly (don’t fear the reaper)
Baby, I’m your man

La, la, la, la, la
La, la, la, la, la

Love of two is one
Here but now they’re gone
Came the last night of sadness
And it was clear she couldn’t go on

Then the door was open and the wind appeared
The candles blew and then disappeared
The curtains flew and then he appeared
Saying don’t be afraid

Come on, baby (and she had no fear)
And she ran to him (then they started to fly)
They looked backward and said goodbye (she had become like they are)
She had taken his hand (she had become like they are)
Come on, baby (don’t fear the reaper)

Off Cycle Book Club With Some Reflection ~ 8/15/21

On the first Fridays of the month (I reserve the last Friday for #WATWB), I write a review of a book I’ve recently read. I am digging out of a backlog of previously read gems because my neurosis to only post one book a week only in chronological order has me reading ahead of what I am able to write about. I could slow my pace to catch up the writing with the reading but what fun is that? I’m finally reading again regularly for FUN or escapism after a brief hiatus invoked by the pandemic. That, the reading for pleasure, I won’t give up. A girl has to be passionate about some things. Am I right ?!?!?!?

The italicized word is me being passive aggressive and not letting go of a comment written to me last week. At least I own it. How can I improve if I don’t acknowledge my flaws? The stinging will end soon enough. I have already partially moved on.

On to better things. Yesterday while savoring all the wonderful #SoCS entries, I stumbled across this post from Lakshmi Bhat. The Francis Bacon quote does well to explain what I was having trouble putting into words. The words I LOVE so much. A perk of WordPress (love it or leave it) is how the platform unites us. I would never have stumbled across Mukhamani otherwise. The geographic separate alone would have prevented us from meeting each other.

Now for the cherry on top of the whipped cream of the chocolate sundae, here is the quote:

β€œSome books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed and digested that is, some books are to be read only in parts, others to be read, but not curiously, and some few to be read wholly, and with diligence and attention.”

Francis Bacon

I’d simply say I don’t read books, I inhale them. Now I can say I eat them. Haha! or YUMMY πŸ™‚

Wishing you all a peaceful Sunday.

As always, more to come.

Sunday Reflections: A Week in Review ~ 8/15/21

Howdy folks, here we are again. Another week in the hopper. I’d tell ya how fast time was moving but you’re already aware I’m sure or you’re not aware because maybe time is creeping for you. Everything is relative, huh.

Today is the feast of the Assumption. If I was still a kid, we’d be loading up the station wagon and heading to Praha, Texas for the best celebration ever. First, we attended the outdoor Mass at 10 AM sharp. Which was cool because it was like going to church in our car which is what we did when vacationing at Lago Vista/Lake Travis. Something different from our usual weekly to make things interesting.

Afterwards, there’d be the meal. Plenty of stew and fried chicken with all the sides. The desserts would be lined up for miles. Of course, there’d be lots of pivo too. For the grown-ups of course. And cotton candy and snow cones. My favorite memory is turning over my ticket then being allowed to reach into the ice for a Dr. Pepper. After using the life size bottle opener (meaning it was mounted and as tall as I was), I could hardly wait to ‘pop a top’. That first swing would be nice and slushy. You can’t really get the same experience with plastic bottles just sayin. Games like fish pond and bingo and a dance to cap off the evening.

As much as I enjoyed the experience, B and I only took Pony once. He went a few other times with my mom and dad when the 15th fell during the week when B and I were working. Awwww! I miss my parents. They were so good to my boy. Lulu never had the good fortune to know her grandparents from my side or to attend.

Despite having the day free, we opted to stay put. I’d like to think without the Delta, we might take our chances to go again but nope we’d likely still stay put. As much as the pandemic changed us, it also gave us ‘permission’ to do what we prefer to do which is stay put. I’m baking a chocolate meringue pie instead because I’ll be damned if I’m not gonna learn how to make a proper meringue.

Okay roll call time. Enough nostalgia and reminiscing. Let’s go …

  1. Sunday 8/8/21- #SLS Rush Free Will
  2. Monday 8/9/21- Haiku Apple & Rot
  3. Tuesday 8/10/21 Share Your World – free therapy
  4. Wednesday 8/11/21 #1linerWeds. word choice and punctuation matter version
  5. Thursday 8/12/21 Reflections/Thoughts – Music Minded
  6. Friday 8/13/21 Book Club – The Wonder Boy of Whistle Stop I blew right past the superstitions of the day
  7. Saturday 8/14/21 #SoCS – Luck

Whew! All done.

Peace y’all. Until next time. Stay safe.

As always, more to come.