#SoCS for 11/3/18 ~ Point

Happy Saturday and Happy #free48! About time right??!!? This week felt like a year!

 “Time keeps on slipping, slipping, slipping into the future!”

~Bonus points for anyone who can name that tune~

It’s also time once again for #SOCS. And today Miss Linda gives us an interactive version.  Woo to the Hoo!!!  This is what she tells us:

Open a book on your lap, close your eyes, and put your finger on the page. Whatever you land on, whether it be a word, a phrase, or a sentence, write about it. Enjoy!

Enjoy! Don’t have to tell me twice!!

I am presently reading “Mrs. Fletcher” by Tom Perrotta.  Before I go on this little pointing expedition, let me tell ya, Tom is a mighty fine writer.  I have read several of his books.  Some of the more popular ones have become movies.  Some dark and some light-hearted.  Some both #Election starring Matthew Broderick and Reese Witherspoon.  If Mrs. Fletcher is ever adapted, the storyline could go either way too.  I see a dark comedy in our future.

Any Who.  One … Two … Three … GO!

What about Fletcher’s mom?

Doh!  Yep.  That’s a loaded question.  Cue music again.

“Stacy’s mom has got it goin’ on”

Back to the book, the answer was something along the lines of she’s okay except she gave birth to a colossal AH.  And her son is a piece of work.  A fictional frat boy AH to the extreme.  And this is fiction but as is the case sometimes, truth is stranger than fiction or life imitates art or some such nonsense.

Not nonsense! Faux news.  And I decided that I won’t be political and I won’t curse today but you get it right??? We are surrounded by AHs. Let’s move it along, nothing to see here.

Any Who Part Deuce

Today would have been my dearly departed brother-in-law’s birthday.  Had he not been dealt an ugly fate, we’d be celebrating his 53 years on this planet.  Hard to believe that July marks 12 years since his passing.  Gone too soon but not forgotten.  May the perpetual light shine upon him!  Go forth folks and make today the best day ever!

As always, more to come.

If you’d like to participate with this rowdy band of prompt respondents, click here for the rules and ping back.

 

 

15 thoughts on “#SoCS for 11/3/18 ~ Point

  1. Yes, Steve Miller Band, one of my favorites & love that song.
    These anniversaries of loved ones who’ve passed on really tug at our hearts, don’t they. Nice of you to remember your BIL. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always enjoy reading your responses to the prompts. So nice of you to remember your BIL, he’d be pleased you remembered him and how old he’d be. 53 is a good age, he’d enjoyed celebrating that milestone with you. Happy Saturday to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can hum that whole song with all the sound effects and words here and there, yet not sure of the true title. What’s in a name? Your brother in law is flying like an eagle….to the sea, singing: “Fly like and eagle let my spirit carry me….” His spirit drops by occasionally I bet, but then moves along to better and broader horizons.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “Fly like an eagle” or something. I name a lot of songs based on the line I remember.

    Nice post. It’s alwsys a little wake up call when you realize someone has been gone a long time already.

    Here’s to absent friends.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Steve Miller Band’s “Fly like an eagle” is correct!

      B thinks of his brother everyday. For him it’s constant and for me it’s a surprise that 12 years flashed by in a blink.

      Cheers to the memories 🥂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment