Friday Book Club: J-Dub’s Review … 5/21/21

On tap for today is The Club King: My Rise, Reign, and Fall in New York Nightlife by Peter Gatien. The following is my Goodreads review:

Title of Review: Driven

What a great story of the life of a soul driven to create. A man with many flaws that you can’t help but like anyway. I’d love to have experienced the culture of clubs but I was born too late.

Yep, no spoiler and not much to go by. That’s my kind of review. Haha!

This is a memoir. Very personal and hard to rate with stars but definitely a recommended read. I’ll include some highlights from the book itself. One of the perks of Kindle. Yes I’m old school and prefer actual paperback/hardback but since the Rona my library visits have stopped. Plus I have the handy dandy “free” monthly Prime reader selection. Let’s just say this carrot and stick gal loves a bargain.

  • An imbalance of brain salts, a large sector of the populace can’t cope with regular nine-to-fives
  • Lighty always put it a different way: “I gained my MBA in hell.” His “streets to the suites” saga would become the stuff of legend, and his self-made journey got a big boost at Tunnel
  • If parents hate a type of music, it’s almost a guarantee their children will like it.
  • Could my life get any better? When the gods hear a line like that from the lips of a mortal, the Greek concept of hubris kicks in. I was blissfully unaware that a series of unconnected events was coming together just then, ready to shatter my life in ways I could hardly imagine.

Check out the book if you’re so inclined. Happy Friday folks! Hope it’s a good one.

As always, more to come.