For 2/3/19 Part II ~ “Point of No Return”

I’m baaaack!  No rules against a two-fer on #SLS.  I should have done an all in one post but this song escaped my recollection until I listened to all the great songs put up today.

This one reminds me of my brother Jimbo Pete.  God rest his soul.  As an 8th grade graduation gift, he gave me the album “Point of No Return”  which contains the song of the same name.   Yes we had 8th grade graduations from my parish school.  Off to high school and a world of possibilities.

I cannot listen to this song without bawling like a baby.  This song and Carry On My Wayward Son do a number on me … because my brother was wayward but he had a heart of gold.  Don’t worry, my tears are of the happy variety.  To me, sounds a little like ELP or Yes.  I hope you enjoy!

Writer(s): S. WALSH, P. EHART, R. STEINHARDT

Disclaimer: I have no copyrights to the song and/or video and/or hyperlinks to songs and/or videos and/or gifs above. No copyright infringement intended.

I heard the men saying something
The captains tell they pay you well
And they say they need sailing men to
Show the way, and leave today
Was it you that said, “How long, how long?”

They say the sea turns so dark that
You know it’s time, you see the sign
They say the point demons guard is
An ocean grave, for all the brave,
Was it you that said, “How long, how long,
How long to the point of know return?”

Your father, he said he needs you
Your mother, she says she loves you
Your brothers, they echo your words:
“How far to the point of know return?”
“Well, how long?”

Today I found a message floating
In the sea from you to me
It said that when you could see it
You cried with fear, the Point was near
Was it you that said, “How long, how long
To the Point of Know Return?”

Rules and Ping Back to #SLS for 2/3/19

As always, more to come.

15 thoughts on “For 2/3/19 Part II ~ “Point of No Return”

  1. Another great song! I’ve thought about doing two-fers before – But I usually hang onto the ‘leftovers’ and use them on Free Choice weeks for Monday’s Music Moves Me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No rules against a two-fer as you will never reach the point of no return. Thank you so much for being a double participant today. That picture is kind of cool with the ship sailing over the edge of the world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment