Sunday Supper ~ 4/14/24

I’ve been blogging daily because I must keep my streak alive but only A2Z & the new Sunday Supper. I don’t have enough time to write my usual fodder & participate in the weekly prompts I so enjoy. I will get back to that very soon though.

My priority right now is my oldest son-shine Pony Boy Dub. The kid with a heart of gold who was a lonely only for 9 1/2 years until his sister, Lulu Belle Dub came along. Cue music … He’s leaving …

Songwriters: Lennon-McCartney

For the 3rd time … this has to be the charm y’all. When he was barely 18, he left us the first time & lived with a few roommates. I vividly remember standing on the carport as he drove off down our winding driveway to his own place.

B: “He’ll be back to visit, come inside.”

Me “I need to be alone.”

I stood there until it got dark, crying silent tears. B would peek out the door. I’d wave him away.

Pony was 22 when he came back with his fiancée, now ex-wife. They lived with us about six months before moving in with her mother. When they left together that time, I didn’t have that same visceral reaction. This is the natural order of things.

Then he lost his job in a downsizing. Not for cause but because his audits could be done someplace else for less. He had the option to stay with a significant demotion or take the severance. He & one other person took the severance. It was then that he let us know the job was one he hated all 13 years he was there but that he sucked it up because that’s what married grownups do. They go to work & pay their bills. His natural inclination was in sales but with no benefits or guaranteed income, he opted for the safer, more hated option. After the layoff, he was back home.

He asked us for time … until January to figure it all out. We gave him grace. All along though he was planning his next move. That leads me to today.

He’s leaving … after much research on cost of living, etc. he landed on two possible locations & drew from a hat. He has a roommate already, another kindred soul who wants to leave Texas. As much as I worry that he is going without a job, I … no WE … both B & I are very happy for him. He is taking a giant leap of faith, one I was never brave enough to take. I squashed my wanderer spirit for the safer option too. If I had not blown out my knee right before basic training, no telling where I would be.

But I digress. This is not about my not going into the Army. This is about why at 8:30 AM on a Sunday morning, I got up & made the filling for my famous (to us) homemade egg rolls. He requested this meal as his last (for now) Sunday Supper.

Someone must be cutting onions in here. Oh yea, I use green onions in my filling. That must be it. If this batch is a little more salty, it’s not my crying y’all. I’m very very happy. I promise.

As always, more to come.

P.S. On this day exactly one year ago, I went to court in Austin & won my case to unseal my records from Home of the Holy Infancy. It was also the same day that Lulu & her partner moved into their new home. Good things come in threes when we add today’s events. ❤

15 thoughts on “Sunday Supper ~ 4/14/24

Leave a comment