Thursday Thoughts ~ 5/30/24

A year ago I was really nervous about my trip to Washington to meet my biological relatives. I’m still no closer to knowing them than I was then. That makes me sad. But what are you gonna do? You can’t force people to want a relationship with you.

The lack of automatic kinship, sort of tests the theory of nature versus nurture. You cannot discount either. But without experience, you have nothing. Of course there are exceptions to every rule.

Turns out I have another brother. We share the same biological father. He is almost 3 years older than me. I found out about him on Good Friday. He is my Easter present. He was doing a good thing for his family to get his genealogy tree mapped out for his children. He didn’t expect to find a DNA match.

We felt the cosmic connection that everyone talks about that I doubted even existed. But such things do exist. Oh my word, it is indescribable.

G: Jill it’s like you’ve been my sister all my life. Well you have but you know what I mean.

I told him I felt the same. The ease of our conversation. Flowed freely not forced or uncomfortable. Our finding one another was meant to be.

Happy as I am, I’m still a little disappointed that dad and the other 1/2 siblings are at arm’s length. It’s the two biological siblings who don’t have any family history who have bonded. We’re still in the dark. But at least we have each other.

As always, more to come.