Friday Book Club: J-Dub’s Review of “We Lie Here” By Rachel Howzell Hall ~ 9/29/23

Non-spoiler review from Goodreads: Read this book straight through without stopping. A fast paced thriller that kept me guessing until the end. A recommended read.

Highlights for my commonplace book …

  • Three may keep a secret, if two of them are dead. How true!
  • My body is telling on itself, and now – the story of my life, ouch, ouch ouch …
  • I don’t want people messing around in my head, making me remember everything I’m trying to forget. My goal is to forgive & forget but not doing too well with that …
  • At six feet three, he’s a redwood of a man Having just stood under a redwood recently, these words paint a vivid picture
  • Plans were like tongues. Everyone had one and ignored the damn thing until it got bitten or burned. I love to plan but yea the follow through is another matter
  • he’s caring, and he never says anything he doesn’t truly mean. Which is why he doesn’t talk much I’m going to pretend I know someone like this to explain silence but then it also confirms my worst fear … I mean nothing to him
  • Or maybe my genetics are taking over, and the madness is setting in like pointy ears or thick eyebrows, also inherited from your parents I do wonder if one day the chickens will come home to roost bwahahaha

And that’s it for this one.

As always, more to come.

Leave a comment