#SoCS ~ 9/16/23

How the heck is the middle of September upon us already?!? Time once again for #SoCS where we have a repeat. I will not look at my post from that day in the past since this is stream & my timer is a ticking. Without further ado, Linda writes & I copy paste: Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “run.” Use it any way you’d like. Have fun! To join us for the 5k, HERE are the rules & ping back.

Hmmm, think, think, & think …

No need to think, see what I did there? Clever or not I used 5K as is walk/run. I have a story to tell about being inadvertently caught up in a 5K when I was on my pilgrimage. I went to Apple Capital Loop Trail in Wenatchee, WA on Saturday June 3, 2023. This city was where my father lived from age 14 to not sure what age when he moved.

Anyhow, I got there very early @ 6am & had the trail to myself but by mid-morning the crowd was growing. Then we hear they’re closing the loop for a 5k, so I park myself on a bench. I needed a rest anyway as I had already walked to Walla Walla Point Park & back to the rail station twice!

The theme of the 5K was girl power, something STEM related. Most runners were in costumes with super hero capes. There were some chaperones running too, moms, dads, family & friends. All supporting their best girl.

As I sat observing, most runners were laughing & smiling but one little girl was walking fast, head down, bawling her eyes out. This made me think how different people react to things. What made that girl cry while everyone else around her was so happy? Then I hear mom & sister, “hurry up!” they yelled. “We’re going ahead without you!” Basically her mom & sister ditched her to try & place in the race. Then I see a father hang back with his daughter “you can do it! You got this! Look right there! We’re almost at the finish line!” Not caring one iota if they win.

Emotions are complicated. Under other circumstances, I would have got up to walk with the crying girl. But her mom circled back to her before I could do anything. That didn’t stop the waterworks but still I was glad. When I saw the support of that father, I got tears in my eyes. Anything is possible if you only believe! Of course to be fair, I was already pretty emotional.

This post has run its course as I have run out of stream. Better run to get ready. No wait, I have time. Today we celebrate early the birthday of Lulu’s partner. He turns 26 on the 18th but that falls on a weekday & work has them staying in. Wishing you a wonderful Saturday folks. Ta-ta for now.

As always, more to come.

10 thoughts on “#SoCS ~ 9/16/23

    1. Thanks Peter! I feel there’s more to this story. I even jotted notes down while I was on that bench to write about it later.

      Like

Leave a comment