Thursday Thoughts ~ 8/24/23

Note to self: The Courtyard by Marriott is not THE Marriott even when the room costs the same. I sound like a prima-donna because I am ā€¦ not a prima-donna šŸ˜‰ Sincerely Iā€™m usually not picky ā€¦ B can vouch for me that Iā€™m a cheap date šŸ¤£. I was expecting something like the AC Marriott in Austin or the Marriott across from the TAM both of which have me spoiled.

Our road trip was uneventful. We made good time despite a few traffic slow downs in the usual places. Good tunes and better conversation. Check-in was smooth until we tried to get into our room.

We hear talking behind the door. The housekeeper tells us ā€œpeople are in thereā€. She comes over & knocks ā€œHousekeeping! Housekeeping!ā€ A guy answers and says over his shoulder ā€œRebecca they doubled booked the roomā€ To us he says ā€œCome on in!ā€ Me: ā€œWhy I never but maybe I ought toā€ šŸ˜‚ B melts into the hall carpeting but everyone else laughed. I wasnā€™t even trying to be funny. Iā€™m a natural.

We all went to the front desk. Turns out they got in with a mobile key. Which shouldnā€™t have worked. He says ā€œsee I told you it was the wrong room, ours should be adjoining for when the kids get hereā€ We waited in the bar & were ā€œcompedā€ for our troubles with free drinks. Not alcohol. Though I could have chosen the screw top wine. The displaced couple got the same.

That’s what I’m thinking about today. Our fun vacation. I might share more snippets of our trip. I find “stories” in everything.

As always more to come.
ļæ¼