Thursday Thoughts ~ 8/17/23

Iā€™m gonna try not to think about me right now. When you canā€™t un-hear the announcement ā€œall available help to room 3ā€ from your seat in the waiting room of the Methodist Ambulatory Surgical Center, you make stuff up. Itā€™s over and Lulu wasnā€™t even the patient in room 3, thank goodness. But someone elseā€™s loved one was & that is sad.

I observed a lot yesterday & listened more closely with heightened attention. I didnā€™t think about what Iā€™d write in the story I knew I had to tell. Now as I sit here the day after, I think to myself maybe I donā€™t have to tell it.

Except for WP, Iā€™ve been on a anti-share campaign. Here I can write my genuine thoughts for my own reason and people are kind. FB & Instagram are full of irl people who are silent. I care way too deeply about responses. My feelings are hurt on the regular. Almost always because I make stuff up. But wait! Didnā€™t I say this is not about me.

Few things to rememberā€¦ people with the wristbands were patients. People with PHI approved smiley face stickers were loved ones who could get health info on the patient. Thatā€™s a story of its own with feuding divorced parents whose daughter had her tonsils removed. And of course the parents had their parents there. Grandma loudly states ā€œmy son gets to hear too about his own child, MY granddaughterā€. The poor kid was scared as it was without the 3 on 3 contest with her as the basketball.

On that note, despite what we were told, you could bring more than one person. I found it comforting when one patient had her boyfriend, her aunties, her grandmother, and her sister with her. She had no mama but her mamaā€™s sisters and grandma stood up. I know this because they cried wishing her mama could be there. Only sister was PHI approved & went back while the remaining women formed a wall of unity. Maybe that was the rule, only one person in the back but anyone who wanted to wait could tag along.

There was 3 back rooms plus several operating rooms like the infamous room 3. # 1 is pre-op prep, #2 is recovery nurse only, #3 is next phase recovery/discharge. I got into #1 (after prep but still waiting) and #3 as Luluā€™s PHI person.

Landing the plane. Cheers to a successful surgery. Doc has every confidence the pathology will be good.

Lulu did fantastic. Sheā€™s a brave little soldier. Refused anti anxiety meds. Said she wasnā€™t scared. Almost refused Tylenol saying the pain was manageable. Feels like a good workout with too many crunches she said. This from the girl who like her mama has rarely done a crunch. How would we know?!?? šŸ˜‚

Until next time. Be well.

As always more to come.