The Psychology of Nicknames in the Workplace: The Power of Pootie Poot and Houdini

Life

J-Dub or Jilly Willy or Spoonie
What’s your nickname???

psychologistmimi

Do you ever get tired of calling people by their proper names? Have you worked with someone for over 5 years and you barely remember what their real, passport name is?   Maybe you have never known it. Nicknames in the workplace are all the rage these days. Former President George W. Bush was extremely fond of nicknames, perhaps because he himself had to find a way to differentiate himself from all the other George Bush’s in his family.  If you ever watched him give a press conference, you would have noticed that every time he called on a journalist, he would refer to them by some odd, and at times extremely kooky name.   The rumor is that he got his nickname-calling habit at Yale University when he was part of the Skull and Bones society. While in Skull and Bones he was supposedly given the nickname “Temporary”. Makes you wonder how his political opponents…

View original post 698 more words

#19

14 To Infinity

I made three trips to the grocery store last weekend … Only because I forgot something twice.  The fact that I was able to return both physically and financially is not lost on me.  I’m grateful for my good fortune.  

It was graduation weekend around here. The lady in front of us at checkout during round 2 had a card, Mylar balloon, and cake. 

The cashier asked “graduation huh?  ECISD?”

She smiled giddily. “yes! My son ❤️. Go Hornets!”

She ran her debit card then the clerk says you’re short.  She checks her bag … empty.  

She says “oh well he doesn’t need a card”

Me “yes he does”

I’ve been looking for such an opportunity … to pay it forward.  Feels good 😊.  Next time I’d like to do more.  

As always more to come. 

Hindsight is 20/20

Life

This post pulled over from FB was written five years ago today. June 5, 2012.

Lulu is AWESOME!!! Just got home and she says “go look in your closet, bedroom and bathroom cabinet” She had cleaned up/out all three places, spring cleaning at its’ finest. She did her own room too and tomorrow she tackles the office!!! All this without me even asking! LOVE our baby girl 🙂

It is only in hindsight that I look back and realize I missed the signs. The obsessive behavior. That has lead to other obsessive behavior. What 14 year old would clean without prompting? Now the guilt sets in. Would things be different if I knew then what I know now?  

So many things I said and did made matters worse.  Exactly like they say, your kids are watching and listening your every move.  I was a huge influence on her.  I never knew. If only, …

Then I tell myself enough!  You did the best you could.  Maybe things would have been even worse!  The past is the past and all you can do is move forward.  Wallowing in self pity truly serves no purpose.  I’m not the sun or the moon, I can’t control the universe.  Letting go no matter what may come is for the best.  Now if only I believed that. 

As always more to come.