#18

14 To Infinity, What Are You Watching? Scenes That Move You

My bedroom.  In particular, my bed.  And the comforter.  Temp controlled nirvana.  Every morning when I wake up, I revel in the stillness and that feeling of security under the covers.  Snug.  As A Bug.  In A Rug!

This has not always been the case.  Insomnia has interfered with a good night’s rest since my 40’s.  I have tips to deal now though and for the most part, those tips work.  Lilac, lavendar and other assorted scents.  Sleepy-time tea, no caffeine after 3, turn off all electronics an hour before bedtime.  With that, I can sleep again.  Yay!  And as I was thinking about something else to add to the infinity list, these last few mornings made me think about my BED.

I work downtown and every morning I pass several bus stops on my way to the office.  As I get closer, I see the walking wounded.  This past Monday, a cooler than usual morning,  I saw a man sitting there at the bus stop, hunched over, head almost on knees.  As I sat at the red light, waiting for green, I could see him from the corner of my eye, sleeping, breathing slow and shallow breaths.  In.  Out.

That’s when I thought damn, how awful to have to sleep outside, wherever one can.  How bone tired and weary one must be to be able to sleep at a bus stop bench.  There are even days when people are on the sidewalks asleep.  Grabbing a restless nap before moving along.  What an existence?  And then I thought about my bed.  How the feel of the comforter brings peace.  How I wish that peace for everyone.  Simple really.  Everyone needs a bed.

Then I remembered, the best scene in the Blindside.

As always, more to come.

3 thoughts on “#18

  1. I know what you mean. We sometimes forget how good we have it, or at least I do, when I get caught up in things like, I wish I could just sleep. lol But then we think about people out there who don’t have beds, comforters, or homes, etc. My non sleep issue doesn’t seem so bad. I’m catching up on your blog, by the way, I’ve been away but I’m looking forward to catching up on all of your posts that I’ve missed. I’m getting there slowly but surely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Jill that is so encouraging. I’m happy it is making you happy :):) I’ve been so busy since getting home but I’m looking forward to tonight or in the afternoon tomorrow catching up with your blog so if you get bombarded with comments, I apologize in advance 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

