May is Mental Health Awareness Month – Mental Health Post a Day in May – May 14th – Post-Partum Depression

Life

How fitting that Sue posted this on Mother’s Day. Celebrities have written about their personal experience with postpartum depression. Brooke Shields for one. Hopefully this has reduced the stigma. Not trying to be a downer on this otherwise happy occasion. It’s just so important to be educated on the topic. With Pony I had baby blues. Likely just my perfectionist personality afraid I’d fail. My mom and others stayed with me daily. Definitely short lived. With Lulu, I didn’t have my mom. She passed away when Lulu was just 5 weeks old. Now that was hard. It wasn’t baby blues as much as the sadness of losing my mom. Important info contained within.

My Loud Bipolar Whispers

Happy Mother’s Day!

In honor of Mother’s Day I needed to make my “Mental Health Post a Day in May” be about Mothers and that is why my post today is specifically related to mothers and is about post-partum depression.

I had post-partum depression with each of my three children, but the symptoms were most dramatic and most severe after the birth of my first child. After being diagnosed with post-partum depression after the birth of my first child, I was soon diagnosed with bipolar disorder a few months later.


Definition By Mayo Clinic Staff

 Definition

The birth of a baby can trigger a jumble of powerful emotions, from excitement and joy to fear and anxiety. But it can also result in something you might not expect — depression.

Many new moms experience the “postpartum baby blues” after childbirth, which commonly include mood swings, crying spells, anxiety and difficulty…

View original post 1,997 more words

Leave a Reply

