We Were Almost Hacked!

Life

Testing

J-Dubs Grin and Bear It

I was online paying bills and I see someone has tried to add an account to use for to/from transfers to an external account I do not recognize.  There’s a triangle with an exclamation point saying signature required to activate. What the what!  We have no external account.  I did not do this.  I ask Billy Bob and he just looks at me, no answer.  I mean really ?!?!  what a question?!?  Him use a computer for anything besides … well besides nothing? Nope.  He does use his phone though, surprisingly.  He checks the weather, watches YouTube clips and sports videos.

Anyway, I call and right away the rep gets to work on deciphering what happened.  As she is checking around she says WOW!  I have seen some checking accounts that have been open for a while but you, you’ve had this account longer than I’ve been alive. Ma’am thank you for your…

View original post 223 more words

We Were Almost Hacked!

Life

I¬†was online¬†paying bills and I see someone has tried to add an account to use for to/from transfers to an external account¬†I do not recognize. ¬†There’s a triangle with an exclamation point saying signature required to activate. What the what! ¬†We have no external account. ¬†I did not do this. ¬†I ask Billy Bob and he just looks at me, no answer. ¬†I mean really ?!?! ¬†what a question?!? ¬†Him use a computer for anything besides … well besides nothing? Nope. ¬†He does use his phone though, surprisingly. ¬†He checks the weather, watches YouTube clips and sports videos.

Anyway, I call and right away the rep gets to work on deciphering what happened. ¬†As she is checking around she says WOW! ¬†I have seen some checking accounts that have been open for a while but you, you’ve had this account longer than I’ve been alive. Ma’am thank you for your membership, that is awesome!!

Doh! But I laughed out loud because it is awesome. ¬†And I am old. ¬†The year was 1984 baby! ¬†We were just starting out. ¬†Two American kids doing the best that they can. ¬†Wait that’s John Cougar Mellencamp’s Jack and Diane, not J-Dub and Big B.

Anyway, yep 1984 is also the George Orwell novel. ¬†A dystopian story that¬†I read in 7th grade for a book report as my friend for life LAB read Charlotte’s Web. ¬†Her brother comes home to find us camped in her living room working on our reports. ¬†He says “are you kidding me LA? Jill is writing her book report in something¬†I read in college and you are using a 3rd grade primer” ¬†She said something smart ass and he left us alone. ¬†Funny what one remembers. ¬†Her brother is Brad … like the brother Brad from Fast Times at Ridgemont High. ¬†And now I have a visual of Phoebe Cates in a red bikini being watched by someone who works at Long John Silvers :). ¬†How is this for stream of consciousness people?!?? ¬†LOL!

Anyway, the rep who is younger than my checking account¬†got us all fixed up. ¬†Account is on hold for 3 days as Fraud does their thing. ¬†It’s likely nothing but better safe than sorry.

As always, more to come.