The Moral of the Story

J-Dub's Confessions, Music To My Ears, Sing Along Song Of The Day ūüé§

I heard it from a friend who heard it from a friend who… ¬†And no this is not a REO Speedwagon sing along song of the day. No one’s been messing around.¬† Wait! ¬†Go back! Click the link and listen. ¬†See what I did there? ¬†Enjoy the song styling of Pit Bull and Mr. Iglesias. ¬†Hehe! Now move forward to this stream of consciousness composition.

I do not think I am breaking any copyright laws in my attempt to paraphrase a story told to me recently. ¬†And before I proceed, I better know I am not breaking the law. ¬†Ignorance is bliss but Ignorantia juris non excusat or ignorantia legis neminem excusat. ¬†Learn your Latin peeps. ¬†I wouldn’t get off scot-free. ¬†Anyways,¬†I Googled the crap out of the tale and came up with zilch. ¬†Breaking the law. ¬†Squirrel. ¬†JUDAS PRIEST!!!!!!! ¬†one of my faves. ¬†Especially the following lyrics:

So much for the golden future I can’t even start
I’ve had every promise broken, there’s anger in my heart
You don’t know what it’s like, you don’t have a clue
If you did you’d find yourselves doing the same thing too

Now wait just a minute J-Dub. ¬†How did¬†we get here?!? ¬†Well, just so happens the lyrics fit the mood and the moral of the story. ¬†In the round about way that I connect dots. ¬†You may not see clearly right away … until the rain has gone. ¬†That’s me, channeling my inner trulyunplugged.

In general, mental health issues are misunderstood.  Physical disease we understand but mental disease not so much.  Hell, I even spent time today watching bloggers go at it over the topic.

One said, “Mental illness is like diabetes!”

While the other said “Hell no it is not!” ¬†

One said “Well fuck yourself! You’re an idiot. ¬†Depression, anxiety, etc… are illnesses. ¬†Invisible illnesses” ¬†

While the other said “Well fuck you too! And grow a pair. ¬†Man up buttercup and try to live life stone cold sober”

Ping Pong, Ping Pong. And who the hell wants to do that?!? ¬†Sobriety is overrated. ¬†Lots of alcoholics out there might tell you otherwise. ¬†Oops, there I go again starting stuff. ¬†I would never joke about such a disease as serious as alcoholism. ¬†I’m being sarcastic and snarky in case you missed that!!!! And speaking for Snark. ¬†Check out this cool site.¬† Go ahead! ¬†Look. ¬†I’ll wait.

Ready to go again?

I definitely have¬†unwavering opinions about all this though – each person’s circumstance¬†varies! ¬†Ha! So much for definitely … so much for unwavering. ¬†One fucking size, never fucking fits ALL!!!!!!! Hence the you don’t know what it’s like, you don’t have a clue. ¬†

Most people are clueless with regards to mental health issues. ¬†Only 1 in 5 get it so only 1 in 5 understand. ¬†Well if you are lucky maybe 2 in 5 … you know that close friend who doesn’t¬†judge and loves you unconditionally. ¬†That family member who you can count on. ¬†Your therapist who gets to hear you ramble on and on about your first world problems never once saying “Jill, just get over yourself”. ¬†She doesn’t have to since I say that to myself enough for both of us.

Thank ya Jesus for letting the masses be clueless! ¬†I would not wish this sH!t on my worst enemy. ¬†Now wait another minute J-Dub’s, how did we get here? ¬†All you wanted to do was share a nice story that impacted you deeply and maybe make some people cry (happy tears). ¬†You know, write something with¬†human connection.

Here goes nothing. ¬†Moving story, make people cry ….

When I woke up last night and could not go back to sleep, this story was ALL that I could think about. ¬†Well that and other stuff that kept me up for who the hell knows how long because in true compulsive learned behavior, I refused to look at the clock. ¬†Alarm clock avoidance is an old how to deal with¬†insomnia trick. ¬†And this particular trick works for me. ¬†I probably am running on 3 hours sleep but I won’t know that … so there! ¬†Take that you bastard insomnia!

Here goes nothing take two:

A man was in a boat with a group of boy scouts.  They were having a wonderful time out on the ocean fishing.  They were in deep waters yet they could still see the shoreline.  They had a good catch and were about ready to call it a day when the clouds got dark, the wind kicked up, and the storm rolled in.  Their small vessel capsized.  Everybody was thrown into the waves.  The man had two choices, he could try to save the boys or he could swim to shore.  He knew in an instant that they would all perish and as painful as it was, he started to swim to shore.  As his feet hit the bottom and he was able to stand, he looked back expecting the worst.  To his dismay, the boys were following him; swimming after him to the shore.

I cried when I first heard the story (and I am bawling like a baby again right now) because A) the friend who told me this lesson is priceless.  She is someone who I can cry with and not be embarrassed about doing so afterwards; B) ALL of the boy scouts and the scout master survived; and C) The day before I heard my therapist reaffirm for me that I needed to take care of myself before I could help my baby girl.  She used the analogy Рjust like the preflight safety message: If you are travelling with a child or someone who requires assistance, secure your mask on first, and then assist the other person.

And the moral to the story is … you tell me. ¬†I would love to hear some comments. ¬†Your feedback is the reason I blog. ¬†Well that and the part about me becoming famous one day … in my own mind¬†that is :).

As always, more to come.

P.S.  <lost> Hence the post Ugh!  and it was good.  I think.  I highlighted two music links and three bloggers.  Maybe I can add more later.

The Day After The New Nose

Aftermath of the 2014 Fall

Not for the squeamish but … here is a picture of Billy Bob post Kevin Bacon’s nose job. Now if a reality TV star gets a new nose, he/she “vacations” in some exotic locale. B on the other hand heads for good ole China Grove and the couch in our den. He may never forgive me for this but I know he’ll always love me. And I’ll always love him. 

Warning graphic pic follows:


As always, more to come.