If squeamish don’t look 

Aftermath of the 2014 Fall

This picture was taken about 7 pm on April 3, 2014. 

Right after, I stepped out into the ICU waiting room. I was alone and never felt more isolated. A kind older gentleman started to give me his seat. He said “we are family now. Please join us to pray for our loved ones”

I broke into tears and slowly melted down the wall into a puddle on the floor.  His wife came over and sat right next to me. 

I will never forget this gesture. I will never forget what happened to his son. They were driving from Del Rio to San Antonio.  While passing an 18 wheeler a steel rod broke loose and went straight through the windshield hitting his son in the head.  A miracle his son was not decapitated.  Yet this man and his wife and extended family were faithful.  They had hope even as the circumstances were more dire than Billy Bob’s. 

This is why I asked for prayers for all those at SAMMC.  There but for the grace of God, go I.  Even now I pray for those at SAMMC today.  A prayer for faith, health and healing. 

As always, more to come. 

3 thoughts on “If squeamish don’t look 

Leave a Reply

