It Never Ceases To Amaze Me

Life

I get all riled up over something.  Today it was my insurance denying my RX claim.  I’m beyond irritated and ranting.  I get home, settle in (bra flies off, just like Frankie Heck from the Middle – funny huh? but topic to follow is NOT!) and then BOOM! Something comes along that knocks me back to reality. I am reminded of my daddy and I can almost hear his voice “No harm done, it could be worse”

You see he always started with no harm done to put things into perspective.

Lulu, Wise and I are celebrating our 3rd annual December birthdays spa day this weekend. Belated to January because Wise has a new job with traditional hours.  Anyhow, Big B squared is home this year (no hunting as the family ranch land was sold so the in-laws have a means to feed their gambling addiction).  Wow, I am a bitter old broad.  Moving right along …

Billy-Bob called Pony to ask if he was available to do something while we girls have our spa day.  That’s when the BOOM happened.  Pony doesn’t know because his friend killed himself and the funeral might be Saturday.  What?!??  Wait!  Stop!!  Not again!!!

I’m hearing 3rd hand so in turning over my new leaf to participate in life, I picked up my phone to call MY boy.  It went straight to voice mail but he called me back quickly.  The conversation went something like this:

Pony: Hey you called?

Me: Yes, did you hear my message?  I get it if you don’t want to talk but I want you to know that I am here.  I love you sonshine ❤

Pony: Well I talked to his wife and she has so much shit to deal with.  I didn’t ask her for details; I don’t want to know how he did it and we’ll never know why.

Me: Are you okay?  I don’t remember the name or you talking about him

Pony: Me? I’m fine, I guess.  He’s not from high school.  I met him through B.  He went to Palo Alto then UTSA with him.  We liked the same music and for the last three years, we went to all the same concerts.  That’s the kind of friend he was … not Brando close but this … I didn’t except this

No words.  What can one say?  Nothing.  Life is fragile.  Do we ever really know anyone?  Who knows what may be just beneath the surface, causing so much pain? Cause of Death: Suicide.

Suicide Prevention Life Line – Spread the word.  NOW!!! Not just during the month of September.  I’ll be praying and lighting candles at San Fernando tomorrow.  Hugs bloglandia.  Hugs to all of you!

As always, more to come.

 

3 thoughts on “It Never Ceases To Amaze Me

Leave a Reply

