Life Imitates Art

What Are You Watching? Scenes That Move You

Or is it the other way around?!?

I’ve been feeling pretty puny these last few days … was running a temperature on New Year’s Day and just when I thought I couldn’t take the sore throat anymore the scratchiness went away.   Suffice it to say I’m almost back to the land of the living.

While I was sick, I  lounged around watching TV … feeling sorry for myself. I cleared out the DVR and deleted some shows I had been saving.    These gems  were 20 some odd minutes (sans commercials) of pearls of wisdom that so closely related to events in my life that I didn’t have the heart to delete them.   They’re all gone now though, to make room for more recordings.    But in my typical J-Dub fashion, I had my pen and paper with me and I made notes prior to deleting.

Here are just a few  highlights:

The Middle May 2016 valedictorian episode.

Axel:  what are you thinking about right now?

Brick: How much she loves me.

Axel: What are you not thinking about right now?

Brick: Death, the futility of the universe that’s always simmering at a low boil.

Snort!  That’s so meeeee!!!!

Mike:  dads are not supposed to know what’s going on. We like being in the dark. Let me know when the kids are getting married.

Mike: you didn’t worry about people the whole time they went out at night.  You said a prayer and went to bed and that was it.

Frankie in a voiceover regarding phone apps:  They’re never going to come up with one that makes you stop worrying.  That’s the price you pay for loving people.

Of course Frankie  and the whole bra thing “then at least let’s take my car there’s one in the glove box.” LOL

From Blackish, the Jack and Diane career test episode.   For the record, I am a daughter of a blue-collar mechanic so I always tend to lean towards that bent.    And if you ever saw the 1970 something movie Breaking Away, I’d be a townie or a cutter!   Belated rabbit hole alert. Now back to your regularly scheduled program.

Pops:  it’s not like you two are doing so good.  You’re too busy to pick up your own children from school.   You expect a drunk old man to do it.

Bow: you drove the kids drunk?

Pops:  not that it’s any of your business but I Uber’ed it.

Ruby:  she has a nastiness that smacks of the devil!

Charlie: I killed a burglar when I was nine. I’m going to ball up my fists, may be go time. I’ll un-ball one of my fists, keep one in the chamber.

Pops:  we’re going to have a generation of You-tubing, selfie takers,  living in a house full of shit because nobody can fix the damn toilet!

I think we need more happy people in the world.   We need less people doing things that they think they are supposed to do  rather than doing things for which they have a passion.

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” ~  Howard Thurman Author, Philosopher, Theologian, Educator, Civil Rights Leader.  

As always, more to come.

One thought on “Life Imitates Art

Leave a Reply

