Forget A Few Grocery Items And Re-Enforce Your Perspective

Life

Big B Squared and I go grocery shopping once a week and get all that we need for just that week.  We always pick an odd time to go and typically we have the place to ourselves.  Yes it is possible to shop at the behemoth that is the retailer Wal-Mart when it is not at full capacity.   I actually prefer to shop at HEB but there is not one close by so hi-ho, hi-ho, it’s off to Wal-Mart we will go. (HEB for all you non-Texans is a local grocery chain).

Yesterday we forgot a few things … more than a few and so waiting the week would not do.  I have been getting to work before 7 so I took off at 3:30 ish thinking, yeah I bet the store is not crowded just yet.  Well, I could not have been more wrong.  Determined to not be stressed, I put on my smile and decided to be in a good mood and to look people in the eye (see my other blog post about same).

As a writer wannabe, I am always thinking about how I can put my thoughts into words to share my perspective.  For some reason, as I began my shopping trip, I was already feeling pretty positive.  Today is a great day.  I have nothing to complain about … paraphrased thought bubble: the man who had no shoes stopped complaining when we saw the man who had no feet.  That’s deep y’all.  And that’s true!

I rounded the corner and I saw a woman about my age, pushing a cart with someone else also holding on to the cart to steady himself… this person I assume is her son.  This boy is obviously disabled, making unusual sounds, he required a bib … the size of a towel.  I imagine he needs 24 hour, round the clock care.  But he was walking … down the aisle. It’d be presumptuous of me to think she had a ‘bad’ life.  Borrowing from the new NBC hit series This is Us – “There is no lemon so sour that you can’t make something resembling lemonade.”  They appeared happy too.  Still I thought, there but for the grace of God go I  … and I smiled as looked them both right in the eyes.

As always, more to come …

3 thoughts on “Forget A Few Grocery Items And Re-Enforce Your Perspective

Leave a Reply

