Two clichés make a right

Life

… Or is it “two wrongs make a right” … oh wait! “Two wrong don’t make a right…”

Silly colloquialisms … all with kernels of truth.

The two I will concentrate on now are:

  1. Absence makes the heart grow fonder.
  2. If you love something, set it free. If it returns to you, it’s yours.  If not, it was never meant to be.

Number 1 – I call Bullsh*T! More like outta sight, outta mind.  Despite being in a long term relationship built on trust and mutual respect, part of what keeps us together is well being together.  Long distance relationships work for some … sure they do … but in my experience – absence does not make the heart grow fonder.  Most of us live in the moment … what is right here NOW … in front of our faces.

Number 2 – uh ya, no.  First of all, this implies ownership.  Not sure about you but the idea of being kept, is not love.  It’s yours … really … are we talking about a human being?  And I used to love this quote … school girl crush happy me … and I did this too in high school, before Billy Bob and I were more than just friends.  My first true love … let’s call him Kermit.  And I cried like a baby and my friends told me it was for the best.  Buh bye, see ya … and he never came back.  So you’ll say … well that proves it Jilly it wasn’t meant to be.

I had a point when I started this … a point that has escaped me.  I guess I am just frustrated.  I thought I could get over this and I will shortly.  With every word I type, I am further from the sadness.  It was second hand sadness anyway.  I just have one question, why you gotta be so rude? Don’t you know she’s human too?

I hope when you fall off your high horse, and mark my words, you will fall … when that happens … I hope you break your face!

As always, more to come …

 

Leave a Reply

