The Possibilities

Life

Lulu and I had some deep conversations before she left for school.  She was understandably nervous and sad.  She was leaving her girls.  The three Ws who for four years sat/stood by each other every time they did anything alphabetically.  Friends who had had each other’s backs and who always accepted each other automatically … No conditions … No matter what.  No questions asked.  They said goodbye.  All going  separate ways with tears and promises to stay in touch.

They probably won’t.  Stay in touch. I didn’t tell Lulu that though.  Why make it worse.  And … I could be wrong.  Wouldn’t be the first time. What I did say was this:

I hope you’re excited baby girl. You haven’t even met the people that’ll be with you the rest of your life   Just think about that.  This is a beginning.   Full of choices.  And I know you’ll choose well.

I recently read that if you stay friends for seven years, you’ll stay friends forever.  That explains the St Margaret Mary’s crew.  K to 8th for most of us.  That also explains my dear work friends.  Of course there are no rules of friendship.  Not true friendship anyways.  The heart wants what the heart wants.

I’ll leave you with this tune 🎶 Make new friends but keep the old.  One is silver and the others gold 🎶    

As always, more to come.

2 thoughts on “The Possibilities

  1. Yes they are … And if you believe the article it’s because we were together over seven years. StMM was our Cheers. Sometimes you wanna go where everybody knows your name.

    Like

  2. I wasn’t a girl scout but I’ve heard that saying many times before….I’m sure you know where. About half the way down, I was saying Jill, what are you saying? How could you say this? Of course, you saved the day by recalling some of your wonderful friends. I don’t know what I would do without my SMM crew. I’ve made some wonderful friendships since maturing into my 40s but the SMM crew is still tried and true.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

