Reading is FUN! And Less Expensive Than Therapy

Book Club

I’ve read six books in the last three weeks!  Thank you public library.  I love downloading these gems onto my Kindle.  I am a kid in the candy store and my choices are sometimes limited to what’s available now as I wait for the new releases and more popular choices.

In my most recent six-pack, I had a mixture that I will now list for you in the order I read them.  Kind of a preview to see if you might want to read them too. No spoilers because these a high level ramblings and musings.

First:  “It Was Me All Along: A Memoir” by Andie Mitchell.  This real life story pulled at my heart-strings and made me want to be a better person.  Details the struggles of a compulsive eater (for lack of a better explanation).  Touches on relationships with family and friends.  Feelings and insecurities abound that eventually lead to acceptance and healing.

Second: “People I Want to Punch in the Throat …” by Jen Mann.  This collection of stories within each chapter is literally – laugh out loud hilarious.  I recommend you read it just to see what God Bless America and Thongs is all about. If you work in an office setting, you can relate to that chapter.    If you live in the burbs, have kids and/or a goofy spouse, you can relate to the whole book.

Third: “Confessions of a Sociopath Hiding in Plain Sight” by ME Thomas.  If you send her an email, she’ll tell you her real name and her only ask is that you not tell anyone … let them find out on their own.  I’m too afraid to email her.  I did take away that all socipaths are not necessarily evil.

Fourth:  “Bad Kid” by David Crabb.  I am not sure if this was a real story or fiction.  My guess is most really happened (pictures through out to prove it)  but with some names changed therefore appearing fictional at times.  The settings were in San Antonio, New Braunfels and Seguin.  Some of the exploits sounded a little like weekends with the people I ran around with in highschool despite the 10 year age difference.  We are about a decade older than the author .  Truth is the 90s are not all that different from the 80s.  Eventually you grow up or you are sick and tired of being sick and tired.  Either way you change.

Fifth:  “Concussion” by Jean Marie Laskas.  I have not seen the movie and I won’t.  The ending was off but sometimes that happens with Kindle – might not have downloaded correctly.  A very abrupt end with no resolution.  I thought Dr. Omalu had the smoking gun to indict the NFL but that didn’t happen.  This book reminded me of some extremes people go to for football.  When T-spoon was little, he wanted to play Pop Warner football.  Bri had played football himself 7th grade to his junior year.  He was against it.  Said if T still wanted to play in 7th grade ok but this is not a sport for the little guys.  One of T’s friends would put rocks in his pocket to meet the minimum weight requirement needed to play. Another friend was twice as big as almost anyone else on the team so the parents let him play up but older boys.  I am like oh hell NO.  What is wrong with you people??!?  But good lord almighty, their kids were going to PLAY.  Back to the book, lives were ruined.  In my opinion, no amount of money is worth damaging your brain.

Last but certainly not least: “Are You There Vodka? It’s Me Chelsea” by Chelsea Handler. I have seen this book forever and passed it by.  I didn’t know much about her beyond the name … a comedienne – raunchy style like maybe a pre Amy Shumer.  I never watched Chelsea Lately when it was on (I think the show has been cancelled).  I saved this book for last since I was not sure I could get through all six books in my three-week window.  I would not have been disappointed if I had not gotten to it before it was automatically returned.  Well I was WRONG.  I almost saved the best for last.  Almost because not every chapter is great but oh my lands, there are two that made me laugh until I was snorting.  Chapter 6 – dining in the dark and Chapter  8 barking up the wrong tree.  Billy Bob thought I lost my mind.  I couldn’t even stop laughing long enough to explain what was so funny.  Laughter truly is the BEST medicine.  Laughter and Ketel One that is 🙂

Leave a Reply

