On to the Next Book

Book Club

This one is called Bad Boy by David Crabb.  It’s a memoir of a young boy’s coming of age in San Antonio TX in the 1990s.  I always love to read a book when my hometown as the back drop.  A familiar feeling occurs and makes me immediately relate.  Some names of places are changed … I don’t think we ever had a Genie Castle Arcade but I know we had an Aladdin.  I don’t remember Gunther High School but the author refers to his school as the biggestin the city making me think his actual school might have been Churchill.  But then he refers to living near Randolph AFB so I think maybe he went to  Judson.  He does not mask North Star Mall or the intersection of 410 and Perrin Beitel.  Both places that are home to me.  The Galaxy located on 410 and Perrin Beitel was a go to theater for us.

I am only about 1/3 of the way through.  I’ll give a better review when I’m done.  More to come …

Leave a Reply

